November 1, 2022

NEBDN appoints new Chair of Trustees and says goodbye to two long-serving members.

NEBDN appointed a new Chair of the Board of Trustees at its recent Annual General Meeting in October 2022. James Ashworth-Holland was appointed as Chair, taking over from Sarah Young who has served as Chair from 2020 to 2022.

James Ashworth-Holland is a member of the Faculty of Dental Surgery RCPSG and has a PGCert in medical education. He graduated from the University of Birmingham in 2022 with a degree in Medicine, with the view to specialise in oral medicine.

Working in general dental practice, James completed further core training in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Special Care Dentistry and Oral Medicine. James also works as a Clinical Fellow in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, an emergency dentist for the Bristol, Bath and Weston areas, and is an Education Associate for the General Dental Council.

James is a Specialist Advisor for the Care Quality Commission, assisting with the inspection of Primary Medical Services and in his role as a Chair for NEBDN, James provides both clinical expertise and professional perspective. James has worked with NEBDN since 2017 and is a strong advocate for further training and education for Dental Nurses.

James Ashworth-Holland, Chair of Trustees                     

On behalf of NEBDN we would like to recognise the support and contribution from two long-standing Trustees, who will now work as Special Advisors for NEBDN:

Sarah Young (Lay Trustee) – Sarah has supported NEBDN since 2015. Sarah also acted as Chair of the Governance Committee, she has been Vice-Chair of the Board, and has chaired many appeal meetings during her time with NEBDN. Sarah has a clear focus on people and supporting NEBDN as they develop in line with their strategic objectives, and now moves on to be a Special Advisor.

Julia Frew (Lay Trustee) – Julia has supported NEBDN since 2015, including in the post of Chair for three years from 2017-2020. Julia also worked on the Governance and Finance and Business Effectiveness Committees. Julia joins Sarah as a Special Advisor for NEBDN.

Sarah and Julia were thanked for their contribution to NEBDN and the former Chair’s medal was passed to the new Chair, as per Trustee tradition.

NEBDN also awarded Lindsay Mitchell with her Special Recognition Award from 2019.

Written by
Jade Monori